The Annual Lecture is held in May every year in the Health Academy 1 (previously Education Centre 1) at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, Royal Preston Hospital site, when a prominent Neuroscientist is invited to deliver a lecture to an audience of medical practitioners from the North West. 

The lectures have become a landmark in the scientific programme of the medical community. 



2021 - Professor Mayank Goyal - Prof of Radiology and Clinical Neurosciences, Calgary. Held via Zoom due to the ongoing Covid-19 Pandemic.

'Endovascular Frontiers for Acute Stroke'

2020 - No Annual Lecture held due to the Covid-19 Pandemic

2019 - Baroness Susan Greenfield - Research Scientist, Oxford. 

 'A Neuroscientific perspective on Consciousness'

2018 - Professor James T. Goodrich - Prof of Neurosurgical Surgery, Paediatrics, Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, New York, USA

'Conjoint Twins'

2017 - Professor John Darling - Prof of Neuro-oncology, Wolverhampton

'Brain Cancer - how long until biology provides new therapies?'

2016 - Professor Tim Solomon - Prof of Neurology, University of Liverpool

'Neurological Infections. Locally, Nationally and Internationally'

2015 - Professor Sir Graham Teasdale - Retired Prof of Neurosurgery, Glasgow

'Glasgow Coma Scale - past, present and future'

2014 - Professor Colin Blakemore - Prof of Neuroscience and Philosopjy, London -

'Vision Impossible'

2013 - Professor Laurent Spelle, MD, PhD, Professor of Neuroradiology, Beaujon Hospital Paris

The 'Role of Endovascular Interventions in Vascular Conditions of the Brain'


Previous Sponsors

2021 - No Sponsors due to being held over Zoom

2020 - No Sponsors due to no Annual Lecture

2019 - Severnhealth Care, Integra Codman

2018 - Sevenhealth Care, Nevro, Depuy Synthes

2017 - Severn Health Care, Cryolife

2016 - Biogen, Stryker, Severn Health Care

2015 - BBraun, Codman, Severn Health Care, Cryolife, Brainlab

2014 - Tissuemed, Codman, Stryker

2013 - Microvention UK

2012  UCB Pharma, Microvention

2011 Eli Lilley

2010 Zimmer-Spine

2003 - 2009  Teva Pharmaceuticals (Excluding 2007)

2002 Teva Pharmaceuticals, Britannia Pharmaceuticals, UCB Pharma

2001 Shearing Healthcare, Pharmacia & Upjohn, Novartis, Britannia Pharmaceuticals, Ipsen

2000 Leica Microsystems Ltd

1999 Zeneca Pharmaceuticals Ltd, Glaxo, Britannia Pharmaceuticals Ltd, Smith Kline Beecham,
         Leica Microsystems UK L td, Rhone Poulenc Rorer, Elan Pharmaceuticals Ltd

1998 Smith, Kline & Beecham, Pharmacia & Upjohn, Parke Davis

1996 Speywood Pharmaceuticals Ltd